Reviews - Kiltearn House

Recent two night stay - Rating 5/5

Great stay, very comfortable. fantastic breakfast

Response

Thank you Caroline

Reviewer:Caroline L | Fri 12th Oct 2018 | 2 months ago


staying - Rating 5/5

verry good and lovely

Response

Thank you so much

Reviewer:Tartaglino f | Mon 1st Oct 2018 | 2 months ago


Beautiful Kiltearn House - Rating 5/5

We had a very nice stay here. Ed was an excellent host and Nelis an excellent cook. Kiltearn is a beautiful old house with large rooms. Our room faced out onto Cromarty Firth.There is a lovely walking path past the ruins of a church out onto the beach. All in all a terrific place to stay.

Reviewer:Don C | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay, quiet and beautiful views on the doorstep. Owners were attentive and very friendly.

Reviewer:David C | Thu 16th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Very good - Rating 5/5

Very friendly, lovely place, we enjoyed our stay

Reviewer:Durban D | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


Coming Home - Rating 5/5

I had the pleasure of staying here for two nights. From the minute i walked in i felt welcome and at home. Ed and Nel made me feel right at home. Not the last visit here! Next time will be witht the family.

Reviewer:David P | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


A beautiful house- Rating 5/5

We had a lovely time:charming rooms and decoration, good beds, nice views, very good breakfast. Nell and Ed are great hosts.

Reviewer:Mr Guido R | Tue 7th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Great hospitality,feels like home in a beautiful location.

Reviewer:dimitris e | Mon 6th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Very homely, clean and welcoming B& B. I never leave reviews but I must say this place is a credit to the owners. Nothing was too much trouble for them The setting is beautiful. I would 100% recommend it here.

Reviewer:Janice W | Fri 3rd Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


Wonderful Country Manor House - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was great and the breakfast was very good. The owners very helpful and friendly. The location was great and we enjoyed our walks along the river.

Reviewer:M | Wed 25th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Fantastic House, Location and Service - Rating 5/5

Arrived at the house and could not believe the location. We were greeted we Ed who knew who we were. Very friendly and the rooms were well laid out and a good size with country side views. The walk on beach was a nice stroll. When it was time for us to leave in the morning they stood outside and wished us fairwell. We will be staying next year too.

Reviewer:Chris M | Tue 10th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Memorable hospitality at Kiltearn - Rating 5/5

Ed & Nel made us feel very welcome during our stay at Kiltearn House.It has many fine and thoughtful touches throughout and proved the ideal start to our short holiday in the Highlands.We wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely revisit.

Reviewer:STEPHEN M | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Very nice stay at Kiltearn House - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at Kiltearn House very much. We had a wonderful big room with a view, a delicious breakfast and there was a very friendly atmosphere and a real personal touch.

Reviewer:Helga S | Sun 8th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Enchanting - Rating 5/5

Amazing amazing place, super service ,personalised breakfast.

Response

Thank you you were all such wonderful people!

Reviewer:surendra l | Tue 3rd Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Home - Rating 5/5

Home, this is how we felt in Kiltaern Country House with Ed and Nel. A warm welcome and always time for a smalltalk. Nothing bad to say about our roomwith a view to the Firth.Thank you Ed and Nel, for a very nice time in Scotland.Manuela and Ralf Bamberger

Reviewer:Ralf B | Tue 3rd Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Lovely accommodation- Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome upon arrival. Such a beautiful place to stay. Room was spacious and very clean, with lots of luxuries. Thank you to our lovely hosts, breakfast was delightful! We will return again when next travelling Scotland.

Reviewer:Christine H | Mon 18th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Quiet & querky - Rating 4/5

Quiet & comfortable, good breakfastVisit the Black gorge if possible

Reviewer:adrian r | Wed 13th Jun 2018 | 6 months ago


Great spot, great hosts. - Rating 5/5

Stunning location and great hosts, would've liked to stay longer to explore.Definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Stede M | Thu 7th Jun 2018 | 6 months ago


Kiltearn House Feedback - Rating 5/5

Excellent, warm, friendly and clean ..very clean.I would happily pay more to stay

Reviewer:Alasdair H | Thu 31st May 2018 | 6 months ago


lovely location - Rating 5/5

helpful and welcoming hosts, very good breakfast, quiet and comfortable B& B

Reviewer:Dr. Michael & Ingrid S | Sun 27th May 2018 | 6 months ago


6 Star Accommodation - Rating 5/5

Perfect retreat. Location and hosts superb, accommodation immaculate, breakfasts wonderful, views of the loch and Ben Wyvis serene. Walks from the house through the countryside to Evanton for evening meals an easy and enjoyable 30 mins. Birdlife along lochside path plentiful and even spotted an osprey with fish just a few hundred yards from the house. Highly Recommended.

Reviewer:Mr Christopher C | Sun 20th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Highly reccomended - Rating 5/5

Stunning peaceful location next to waterfront. Immaculate rooms. Very clean. Great breakfast beautifully presented. Highly reccomended.

Reviewer:Donald C | Thu 26th Apr 2018 | 7 months ago


Second visit here and cananot fault it - Rating 5/5

My second visit here and its hard to fault, clean, friendly and lovely location.Will always use this place when im in the area and the rates are extremely competitive.

Reviewer:Wilson M | Thu 1st Feb 2018 | 10 months ago


Second visit here and cananot fault it - Rating 5/5

My second visit here and its hard to fault, clean, friendly and lovely location.Will always use this place when im in the area and the rates are extremely competitive.

Reviewer:Wilson M | Thu 1st Feb 2018 | 10 months ago


Deja Vu of Happiness - Rating 5/5

A brilliant end to my travels celebrating my 60th. So glad I came back as a tourist, to the same brilliant hospitality, cosiness and comfort/

Reviewer:David W | Sat 6th Jan 2018 | 11 months ago


Best guest house in Britain - Rating 5/5

Our stay at Kiltearn House was Amazing from the warm welcome we received to the lovely cuddle good buy. Breakfast was the best breakfast we have ever had !!!! , puts you big boys ( Hilton hotels ect ) to shame. The whole house was spotless. Kiltearn house is a quiet retreat , with beautiful scenery but close to the A9. Ideal. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Reviewer:Wendy G | Tue 7th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Kiltearn House - Rating 5/5

Had a very pleasant couple of days, welcoming, excellent breakfast & comfortable room.

Reviewer:Pam D | Fri 13th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


kiltearn house. - Rating 5/5

House excellent .we loved everything about this house ,and made very welcome ,food great, bed vey comfy .owners are lovely .would definitely stay again .

Reviewer:William W | Fri 29th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


the special side of Scotland - Rating 5/5

a beautiful, friendly, quiet house with caring hosts - thank you so much!

Reviewer:Mrs. Kirstin E | Fri 29th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Great quiet escape - Rating 5/5

Beautiful building and surroundings. Helpful and warm hosts. And the haggis for b/f was the best I have had.

Reviewer:Roshika D | Sun 10th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


A very comfortable home from home - Rating 5/5

I enjoyed a superb nights sleep in an extremely comfortable bed. Terific views across the water from the bedroom, and lots of great little details which left me feeling pampered

Reviewer:Seonaid G | Mon 4th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Fantastic B&B and great- Rating 5/5

“This is an outstanding B& B with fantastic hosts who were thoughtful, supportive and discrete. The breakfast was delicious and served hot ...the home was immaculate and location enabled our friends to complete a final holiday challenge - to swim in the estuary before heading to the local pub where the food was also notably great (albeit huge portions - we had homemade fish pie & steak pie).”

Reviewer:Derek W | Mon 4th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Lovely quiet location with comfy bed and excellent Aga cooked breakfast.

Reviewer:Tim F | Fri 1st Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


A great all round experience at Kiltearn House - Rating 5/5

It's hard to know where to start - peaceful location, comfortable rooms, cosy guest lounge, excellent breakfasts and friendly & helpful hosts. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay at Kiltearn House.

Reviewer:Dr. Steven H | Sat 19th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Just perfect! - Rating 5/5

The house makes you feel like you are in a typical old house, but with all the comforts we could ask for. Ed and Nel are the sweetest and always ready to help and make our stay more pleasant. Recommend to everyone!

Reviewer:Leticia P | Tue 15th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Beautiful way to start our journey in Scotland- Rating 5/5

Nice accommodations inbeautiful end of the road setting. Thanks Ed and Nell!

Reviewer:Mike M | Tue 15th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Friendly Hosts - Rating 4/5

Pleasant appartment.

Reviewer:Elisabeth S | Mon 14th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


A pice of heaven in northern Scotland- Rating 5/5

This place was faultless. The home is beautiful, the room was spectacular, the views are flawless, and the owners treat you like family. It is the nicest place we have ever stayed. Thank you Ed and Gill for making us feel so welcome.

Reviewer:Sandy A | Thu 3rd Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


A WARM WELCOME! - Rating 5/5

a very good stay at the Kiltearn House!Thanks to the exceptionnal hosts!

Reviewer:MANUELA F | Fri 28th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfect place to relax - Rating 5/5

Thank you Ed an Nel for the nice time in your B& B. The rooms are very clean and spacious. At night it is very quiet.

Reviewer:Mr. Gunthard N | Thu 27th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful B& B - Rating 5/5

Beautiful House . Very comfortable rooms.Excellent breakfast and really lovely helpful hosts.Would love to stay there again !

Reviewer:Helen W | Wed 19th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

Beautiful house in a beautiful peaceful location. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and done more to accommodate us..Breakfast was delicious..

Reviewer:Miller P | Thu 13th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Fabulous place - Rating 5/5

Beautiful house in a beautiful peaceful location. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and done more to accommodate us..Breakfast was delicious..

Reviewer:Miller P | Thu 13th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Exceptional Country House - Rating 5/5

Everything about Kiltearn House was excellent. Friendly and helpful hosts, breakfast second to none, comfortable room and wonderful views over Cromarty Firth. Would highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan J | Tue 11th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Fantastic setting- Rating 4/5

Very attentive hosts. Made you feel very welcome. Best breakfast we have had. Will definitely be back to stay. Thank you for your hospitality.

Reviewer:Liz W | Sat 8th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


A very nice and sympathetic stay - Rating 5/5

Nothing else to say that it was very pleasant, comfortable and welcoming.Thank you

Reviewer:Henri R | Sat 1st Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


kiltearn house - Rating 5/5

a very pleasant stay, friendly owners, lovely location, breakfast really good.

Reviewer:PETER L | Fri 23rd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Many thanks to Ed and Nell - Rating 5/5

We had a good time in your beautiful house. We felt comfortable and slept very well. Again many thanks for the wonderful room.All the best for you and we hope too, to see you again.Many greetings from Switzerland,Beatrice und Kurt Zweifel

Reviewer:Beatrice und Kurt Z | Fri 16th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Cultivated Guesthouse in Beautiful Environment - Rating 5/5

After a trip around Northern Scotland with several stops we found this guesthouse the most beautiful.

Response

Thank you Heinz. Great to read that we were the \"most beautiful\" on you Route 500 trip

Reviewer:Heinz P | Sun 4th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful Location - Rating 5/5

Ed and Nel are great hosts and the house is very charming and welcoming. We enjoyed the days there very much.

Reviewer:Claudia Y | Sat 3rd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Cycling- Rating 5/5

Lovely people and great bed and breakfast. We will be back. Perfect for travelling into the Mountains and glens.

Reviewer:Craig J | Fri 2nd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

We loved our stay in this beautiful accomodation. The couple who manages the place are very dedicated and nice. They raelly make you feel comfortabel and welcome. The rooms where clean, cousy and have lovely beds even a matraswarmer is profided. The braekfast is also very nice and good. We Loved it and can hihgly recomend this beautiful situated place!

Reviewer:Mariette F | Tue 30th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Gorgeous country house - Rating 5/5

Wonderful B& B. Nice quiet location. Beautiful house and large spacious rooms. Ed and Nel were delightful hosts and pointed us in the right direction for local food and sights to see. Nothing was too much trouble. Would happily return on our next visit.

Reviewer:Ashwini C | Mon 29th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent ! - Rating 5/5

What à beautifull place, calm, cosy and such enjoyable. No doubt I will recommand it !

Reviewer:Alexandre C | Wed 24th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Better than your Five Star Hotels - Rating 5/5

I don't normally like staying st "people's houses"that's why I stay in Hotels normally. Kiltearn is the friendliest, cleanest, accommodation. Far better than some local hotels.Spectacular views with the best breakfast I have had in a very long time.You need to try this stay. Will be back!

Reviewer:Elaine M | Tue 9th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfekter Aufenthalt mit tollen Gastgebern!! - Rating 5/5

Das Ehepaar das uns bei der Anreise erwartete hat uns unfassbar freundlich und liebevoll empfangen und beherbergt. Es war einfach perfekt! Ohne diesen 2 tägigen Aufenthalt hätten wir wirklich etwas verpasst! Das Frühstück war fantastisch und die Lage des Hauses absolut idyllisch. Wir schwärmen immer noch davon. Wir haben tolle Tipps für die Umgebung bekommen und würden jederzeit wiederkommen!

Reviewer:Dominique Pauline B | Tue 9th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Haven of tranquility - Rating 5/5

Everything, from the welcome, to waving us off, was spot-on. I travel a lot and Kiltearn house isa rare find. The bed, bed linen were of high quality. Perfect for a great night's sleep. Loved it!

Reviewer:Linda O B | Mon 24th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely house in beautiful setting- Rating 5/5

Lovely place with views of the Firth. Hosts were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. House beautifully deocrated for Christmas. We want to go back

Reviewer:Catriona C | Sun 11th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

This was our second time staying in this magnificent house, and it was a joy. Ed and Nell are brilliant hosts...nothing is too much trouble for them. Comfort, relaxation and luxury from start to finish...looking forward tovisiting and staying again next year.

Reviewer:Raymond B | Tue 22nd Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

I stayed for one night with a friend and would definitely recommend. This is a beautiful house/home in a rural setting.The hosts were very friendly and the breakfast was lovely.Very clean and comfy rooms.

Reviewer:Mrs. Trish M | Sun 30th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful place to stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a wonderful stay with Ed and Nel who were the perfect hosts.Kiltearn House was like a home from home with comfortable beds in a beautiful peaceful location.Great breakfast choice and Ed and Nel's local knowledge helped us to find what we needed.We would love to stay again!

Reviewer:Mr. Gareth R | Sat 22nd Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


September stay - Rating 4/5

Room very clean and well presented. Breakfast excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Neal M | Sun 2nd Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic stay- Rating 5/5

We had a excellent stay with ed and nell. From the minute we went through the front door to the bedroom,breakfast everything was pretty impressive. Ed and Nell were the prefect host.

Reviewer:Pat O M | Mon 19th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


A Fine place. - Rating 5/5

My American tourists from New York and I had a marvellous stay at your fine establishment. The welcome that Ed and Valerie was outstanding, together with their attention to detail. I loved my room as did my couple love theirs. Breakfast was magnificent in the sun room with its views to open fields. My tourists particularly liked the fresh fruits on offer and the cooked breakfast itself. I look forward to returning with new guests next year. Thank You. Bruce Telford.

Reviewer:Mr. Bruce T | Sat 17th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Superb hospitable hosts - Rating 5/5

Couldn't wish for better. Hosts even got up at 4.30am to breakfast me when I had to leave early. Well knitted out, beautiful setting, will definitely go back

Reviewer:Mark D | Sun 11th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Kiltearn House - Rating 5/5

A stunning location, a very warm welcome and a superb room.

Reviewer:Mr. Colin G | Thu 8th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Second time in an excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Very warm atmosphere. We felt at home.The host was very kind and got us with the car at the restaurant.We have been the second time at Kiltearn house and it stayed our favorite in Scottland.

Reviewer:Dr. Urs B | Tue 23rd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Had a great stay with wonderful hosts who went out of their way to make us comfortable and even made sure we had a full breakfast on our last day even though we had a very early departure. Breakfasts were excellent.

Reviewer:Doug C | Tue 23rd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Amazing stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely People and Lovely Place

Reviewer:Barbara M | Sun 21st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Simply amazing - Rating 5/5

Ed and Nell were charming hosts, always there to help and make your stay enjoyable. the room are amazing and the scenery beautiful. If you stop in the region that's where yous houlg go... And very good breakfast by the way

Reviewer:David M | Thu 18th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Stay - Rating 4/5

We really appreciate the bed and the heating cover.

Reviewer:Mr. Fabien G | Tue 16th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Great B&B - Rating 4/5

Really nice house in a very relaxing quite location on the edge of a loch.Very comfortable bedsVery cleanExcellent breakfast

Response

Thank you for your review. We are on the edge of the Cromarty Firth

Reviewer:William D | Mon 15th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Peace & Quiet - Rating 5/5

I stayed for 1 night while travelling for work.The room was small but comfortable & clean.The owners were very friendly & did everything to ensure your comfort, evening offering to drive me to the local pub.Breakfast was very good in lovely surroundings.A little bit of heaven in a busy working week

Reviewer:Anne C | Thu 21st Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


So nice! - Rating 5/5

Beautiful place close to the sea, very friendly hosts and delicious breakfast.

Reviewer:Dr. Ekkehard H | Thu 21st Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Feeling like home - Rating 5/5

Ed and Nell were so friendly, gave us many good advices where to go and what to see. The breakfast was excellent and the view wonderful!

Reviewer:Mrs. Sylke N | Wed 20th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Highly Recommend - Rating 5/5

This is a hidden gem and very deserving of it's star rating. Excellent accommodation in a beautiful setting with the highest standard of customer service. Will definitely be returning

Reviewer:Morag W | Wed 13th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Perfect B&B - Rating 5/5

We loved our stay here. Ed and Nell are perfect hosts that make you feel at home. The room was perfect and Nell's breakfast delicious. Ed's whisky too ;-)

Reviewer:André Van \\\'t H | Sun 3rd Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderfull place- Rating 5/5

Excellent breakfast very nice rooms en friendly hosts... in one word perfect !

Reviewer:BENJAMIN H | Tue 28th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Hosts were excellent. Clean, fresh room - home from home.

Reviewer:Mhairi R | Wed 22nd Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Really nice and would recommend without doubt

Reviewer:Mark R | Tue 21st Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Brilliant! - Rating 5/5

An amazing hotel, conveniently located near wonderful locations. With views over fields and the sea, this traditional small hotel combines comfort and outstanding hospitality.

Reviewer:Alan M | Sun 19th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Well satisfied customers - Rating 5/5

Imposing building in superb location.Well maintained and appointed.Nothing too much trouble for the friendly and welcoming owners.

Reviewer:Terence W | Wed 15th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Perfect, wonderful and peaceful stay - Rating 5/5

Für uns das schönste und angenehmste B& B in Schottland! Äusserst freundliches und hilfsbereites Gastgeberpaar. Absolut empfehlenswerter Ort.

Reviewer:Dora S | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


A first rate establishment - Rating 5/5

An exceptional establishment. Wonderfully comfortable room in a most beautiful old manse and with lovely views across farmland and out across the sea. Very clean and comfortable. Very welcoming and friendly hosts;I loved my stay.

Reviewer:John S | Sun 29th May 2016 | 2 years ago


fantastic ! - Rating 5/5

Thanks a lot for your kind hospitality. It was a great stay, a beautiful place.

Reviewer:Roger W | Sun 8th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful place - Rating 5/5

Beatiful house and cosy Rooms, it was a PerfectStay. Breakfast is fantastic with a great view.Little village with a pub for Dinner is nearby.Very Friendly and helpfully hosts

Reviewer:Dominik G | Sat 7th May 2016 | 2 years ago


long weekend in Scotland - Rating 5/5

Ned & El were fabulously welcoming and friendly hosts. The country house hotel felt like home.

Reviewer:Paul C | Wed 4th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely welcoming house ♡ - Rating 5/5

We stayed in Kiltearn house for our Wedding night and we were not dissapointed , we were made to feel so Welcome and nothing was a problem. Our Room was beautiful and breakfast was delicious. Thankyou both again Amanda and Kyle ☆☆☆☆☆

Reviewer:Miss. Amanda G | Mon 2nd May 2016 | 2 years ago


Weekend getaway - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome on arrival. Lovely room with a beautiful view. A great breakfast set us up for the day. Would love to stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne H | Mon 25th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Spot on in every respect.Very much enjoyed a comfortable stay

Reviewer:Margaret B | Sat 23rd Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Fine hospitality - Rating 5/5

Fine location with fine views, warm welcome, comfortable surroundings, quality breakfast, all provided by friendly hosts!

Response

Thank you Alan your review is highly appreciated

Reviewer:Mr. Alan K | Mon 4th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

Beautiful setting overlooking Cromarty Firth. Fantastic hosts, we were made to feel very welcome. Our room was spacious, very comfortable and well equipped. Compliments to the Chef we had a wonderful breakfast. In the evening we had a lovely walk to the village for our evening meal. Just perfect!

Response

Thank you Evelyn. So pleased everything was perfect for you

Reviewer:Evelyn N | Sat 19th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Brilliant B&B! - Rating 5/5

My stay was for one night only on business however I will certainly be returning for a longer stay in the future.Excellent hosts, comfortable rooms and a superb cooked breakfast from locally sourced produce - you can't beat that for a northern stay!

Response

Thank you Gary, we look forward to your return

Reviewer:Mr. Gary C | Mon 14th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Beautiful location - Rating 5/5

An old manse set in a beautiful quiet location with ruined church and river walk yet only half a mile from the A9.Spotlessly clean, nicely decorated run by thoughtful and attentive owners.

Response

Thank you Margaret for your thoughtful review

Reviewer:Margaret M | Tue 5th Jan 2016 | 2 years ago


Recommended - Rating 5/5

A friendly welcome was received from an attentive host. The accommodation is well appointed and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very tasty and the bed very comfortable.Thank you for a pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Craig F | Fri 20th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable room and very well looked after. A wee bit off the beaten track but well worth it.Great hosts and overall highly recommended

Reviewer:Ralph A | Mon 9th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Comfortable Home from Home - Rating 5/5

Spacious comfortable rooms and a good breakfast cooked to order. Personal attention without feeling overcrowded. Would definitely use again when in the area. Very good value and in an excellent position overlooking the Cromarty Firth.

Reviewer:Mrs. Debbie H | Sun 1st Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Grand old house, tastefully restored, clean and peaceful - Rating 5/5

We loved our stay here. There was a warm welcome, the owners are friendly and very courteous, the room was comfortable, the wifi great and the food was amazing. We will be back

Reviewer:David W | Sun 13th Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


August visit - Rating 4/5

We had an excellent stay using Kiltearn House as our base for exploring a few distilleries. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and breakfasts, delicious and well presented.There was an interesting drinks list which enabled us to enjoy a couple of different malts by the log fire as well as a very good red wine. Hosts very welcoming, extremely helpful and generous with their time to ensure guests enjoy their stay.

Reviewer:Vicki G | Mon 7th Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely Kiltearn House - Rating 5/5

My friend and I stayed at Kiltearn House overnight on our way to Orkney. A perfect stopping off location, beautiful house with great views. Excellent facilities, lovely people and great breakfast. We would highly recommend Kiltearn House

Reviewer:Ms Tracy D | Wed 26th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Business traveller - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night during a business trip. Lovely accomodation, clean and fresh spacious rooms. Kindness and hospitality was amazing.Recommend and would absolutely stay again.

Reviewer:Jesper S | Wed 19th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Overnight stay in June 2015 - Rating 5/5

Thank you Ed and Nell for your warm hospitality during our stay with you.Luxurious inside and out, this beautiful House was wonderful to visit and we hope to come back in the near future.Jim and EileenJim and Eileen

Reviewer:Ms. Eileen C | Mon 22nd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Beautiful tranquil place - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable stay in beautiful location with extremely accommodatingand friendly hosts.

Reviewer:Isabel C | Thu 11th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Overnight stay at Kiltearn - Rating 5/5

Very nice old house recently refurbished. Very friendly and attentive proprietors. Excellent breakfast. Greatly enjoyed our stay there.

Reviewer:James B | Tue 26th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

5 Star accommodation + view. Owners very friendly & helpful, I would definitely recommend. Thank you

Reviewer:Dr. Marc C | Mon 20th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Secluded Yet Central - Rating 5/5

Hard to believe so close to A9 which made visits to Dunrobin & Royal Dornoch easy, yet feels as if far away from hustle & bustle.Website doesn't do justice to the natural beauty and relaxed common areas.Ed & Nel extremely accommodating from delicious breakfasts, meal & attraction recommendations, to single malts in front of wood/coal fire.

Reviewer:Mr. David C | Mon 13th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Single Night Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent nights stay in a warm friendly well looked after establishment.Ed and Nel were first class hosts.

Reviewer:Kevin W | Thu 9th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Overnight stay - March 2015 - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed the brief stay. Superb room and excellent breakfast. The warm welcome plus tea and homemade cake a particular treat. Mel and husband couldn't do enough to make us comfortable. Great location and excellent views. Would certainly come again. T & F

Reviewer:Trevor W | Wed 25th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Kiltearn House - Rating 5/5

Kiltearn House is a lovely place to stay with beautiful views over the Cromarty Firth.The accommodation and food is excellent. Ed and Nell are perfect hosts, very warm and friendly. If returning to this part ofScotland in the future we will most certainly stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Bruce R | Sun 5th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Mrs - Rating 5/5

Wonderfulplace to stay. I would stay there again if I have the opportunity to travel in this area again. Our hosts, Ed and Nell were such nice, friendly people and they took care of us well.

Reviewer:Nyla C | Tue 23rd Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

calmy and beautiful location

Reviewer:Булат | Thu 18th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Kiltearn house.- Rating 4/5

I found my stay at the Kiltearn house very pleasant, relaxing and set in a very scenic location.The room was nice, clean, of good size and all amenities provided.Breakfast was good, great selection and can beplanned in for your needs.The location was good for Invergordon by car 15 minutes and fairy easy access.All in all, a great stay and would recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. John S | Sun 7th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Welcome - Rating 5/5

Made to feel very welcome, nothing to much trouble, very helpful. The guest rooms are spacious and homely and the guest house is in an excellent setting. What not to like.

Reviewer:Simon M | Sat 23rd Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


A warm and wonderful place to relax. - Rating 5/5

My wife and I visited Kiltearn during our honeymoon. We were immediately struck by the beauty of the house and the warm welcome we received from Ed and Nel, the owners. Our room was spacious, clean, and well-appointed, the house was laid out with guest convenience in mind, and the included breakfast was enormous and delicious.But the best part of our stay was Ed and Nel. They gave us restaurant and touring recommendations, they came to pick us up from the pub, they even allowed us to throw some of our laundry in with the house's laundry (necessary after 2 weeks of traveling)! We were absolutely blown away by their hospitality and warmth. Our stay at Kiltearn was a highlight of our honeymoon.I would definitely stay at Kiltearn House again, and I will definitely recommend it to anybody I know traveling in the area.

Reviewer:Jonathan T | Sun 17th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Beautiful location for this Guest House which has about 6 rooms. We were greeted warmly on arrival by the owners Ed and Nell. Rooms were large and clean, with ensuite shower room. We had a view over Chromarty Firth. Excellent breakfast with lots of choice. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Toni D | Sat 2nd Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Beautiful location for this Guest House which has about 6 rooms. We were greeted warmly on arrival by the owners Ed and Nell. Rooms were large and clean, with ensuite shower room. We had a view over Chromarty Firth. Excellent breakfast with lots of choice. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Toni D | Sat 2nd Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

A very beautiful place to stay with stunning views. Very friendly owners who provided a personal service helping in anyway they could and cooking a very delicious breakfast. Rooms were large, clean and very comfortable. A really lovely stay.

Reviewer:Miss. Elizabeth C | Sat 2nd Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


just perfect! - Rating 5/5

A superb location with a great view. Perfectly clean and spacious rooms. Very warm and friendly hosts. We shall return!

Reviewer:Dr. Wolfgang B | Mon 28th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


kiltearn house - Rating 5/5

excellent location, very warm welcome and hosting by owners, rooms spatious and with all comfort !

Reviewer:Mr. Wim De C | Fri 25th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Idyllic - Rating 5/5

Idyllic setting, beautiful house, fantastic acomodation7Idyllic setting, lovely house, great accommodation & friendly hosts. Most enjoyable

Reviewer:John F | Sat 28th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


'Kiltearn House' - Rating 5/5

As this was my first visit to Kiltearn House I wasn't sure what to expect. I could not have been happier. First the location is a dream, the house, an old manse, is beautiful and tastefully cared for, and as for the greeting it was faultless. As usual I arrived after hours on a motorcycle and was offered all the help I could have wanted. The room had tastefully modern furniture and fittings and I really wanted for nothing. After freshening up I was given a lift into town for my dinner and offered a lift back when I was ready! Needless to say the breakfast was a treat and taken in the conservatory overlooking the garden. Very nice. Overall very comfortable and friendly with exceptional service.

Reviewer:Paul E | Mon 23rd Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


May 2014 - Rating 5/5

Charming comfortable house. Hosts very attentive and friendly. Lovely location.

Reviewer:Tim Y | Sun 11th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Business stay - Rating 4/5

Was very well looked after. Nothing was too much bother

Reviewer:Lesley T | Wed 26th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Kiltearn House - Rating 5/5

Had a very enjoyable stay hereLocation is wonderful on the banks of the Cromatry FirthFood was lovely and room was very comfortable and cleanwill be back for another stay!!

Reviewer:Joanna P | Fri 14th Feb 2014 | 4 years ago


Memorable stay - Rating 5/5

We used Kiltearn House as a stopover for a short business trip to this highlands area.We really loved the house and would like to live there ourselves! The location is beautiful and peaceful with views across the water and surrounding countryside, ensuring a good night's sleep. The bed and pillows are good quality, rooms are tastefully decorated and all areas are immaculate.The hosts Ed and Nel will provide evening meals on request and we enjoyed our well cooked and presented meal.There is a very nice guest lounge with quality magazines where we relaxed with coffee and fine whisky from the local distillery.Ed and Nel are attentive and friendly but not obtrusive. Breakfast is taken in the conservatory where the lovely views can be admired. The house is surrounded by neat lawns with some seats. The location is good for interesting walks. I think this place would be especially lovely in summer, but delightful in all seasons.We would certainly return to Kiltearn House.

Response

Thank you for your lovely and detailed review. We look forward to meeting you both again. Ed & Nel.

Reviewer:James C | Fri 18th Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


Brief but perfect! - Rating 4/5

I wasn't actually the guest but I understand from my colleague who stayed that everything was great at Kiltearn House.Very comfortable and clean.Should be back very soon!As the "booker", the reservation was handled swiftly and efficiently by Ed - thank you.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, especially as it was a colleague who stayed. Really appreciated. Ed

Reviewer:Melanie H | Wed 16th Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


good location - Rating 5/5

pretty good location, best accomodation we found in scotland, lots of nature around the house (watching from the windows)will book again when coming to this area

Response

Thank you so much Armin............it would be good to read what you spotted!

Reviewer:Mr. Armin G | Mon 8th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


GREAT - Rating 5/5

We stayed 2 nights in Kiltearn house and absolute loved the place. Very warm welcomed we felt at home right away. Beautyful location and great house. We had dinner on the first night and delicious it was. We absolutely recommend this b& b and plan to go back for a longuer period.

Response

Great review thank you so much. Ed & Nel

Reviewer:Mr. Richard C | Wed 12th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


review - Rating 4/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our time in Kiltearn House, Ed and Nel made us feel very welcome and gave very good advise on where to go and what to do. Extremely helpful where it came to organising taxi's for the wedding we had to attend and airport runs. Rooms very clean and comfortable and in good decorative order.The scenery is stunning and we were very lucky to have sunny warm weather!Would recommend a stay here

Response

Thank you for your review, really pleased we could help and that you had such an enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Miss. Sally D | Thu 18th Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

i wish I had been able to stay longer - excellent accommodation and very welcoming. I look forward to being able to stay again in the future - first class!

Response

Thank you John we look forward to your next visit

Reviewer:Mr. John P | Wed 10th Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Absolutely Fantastic- Rating 5/5

I don't usually leave a review however my stay at this hotel was exquisite. Hotel itself was stunning and the food was to die for. Would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation and I would certainly book myself in again when next up on business. Thank you ! A wonderful stay

Response

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review.

Reviewer:Mr. AnthonyGraham| Wed 20th Feb 2013 | 5 years ago


Great Experience - Rating 5/5

Clean house, great food and very friendly host!

Response

Thank you for a great review.

Reviewer:Mr. Riaan H | Sun 13th Jan 2013 | 5 years ago


Victorian House - Rating 5/5

Beautiful setting, very warm welcome, very comfortable room, excellent food and very friendly hosts.

Response

So pleased you enjoyed your stay.........thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony R | Tue 16th Oct 2012 | 6 years ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

First class guest house, warm and friendly atmoshpere.Clean and well presented with lots of interesting things to look at.Lots of gratuitous items.Host and hostess were very helpful.Would stay again.Thanks

Reviewer:Mrs. Annette M | Tue 18th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


A real find - Rating 5/5

My wife and I had a lovely stay. A beautiful and peaceful location. The hotel is comfortable and homely and our host and hostess were extremely welcoming. Wish we didn't have to rush off to catch the Hamnavoe ferry because we would have enjoyed a more leisurely breakfast (delicious) in the conservatory! We would highly recommend the Kiltearn House.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian W | Tue 11th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


A very nice place! - Rating 5/5

We found a very nice place in a beautifull garden just at the border of the water. The room was very nice. After a warm welcome, we enjoyed a excellent dinner.This is definitely one of the most beautifull places we have visited in Scotland.

Reviewer:Dr. Urs B | Tue 14th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


August 2012 - Rating 4/5

We had a great time in Kiltearn house the region is beautiful and we had the chance to see dolphins not far Ed and his wife told us what to see around their home.The house is really confortable and the breakfast excellent.Marie from France.

Reviewer:Mrs. Marie-pascale P | Mon 13th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


A great place to stay! - Rating 5/5

Kiltearn House is a great place to stay whether for business or pleasure. It is quiet, comfortable and relaxing. The owners are lovely and the food is delicious. I would like to stay there again for a mini-break. I'd definitely reccomend it!

Response

Thank you Anna.............we would love to see you back for a mini-break!

Reviewer:Miss. Anna H | Fri 1st Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Amazing - Rating 5/5

This was our first visit to Kiltearn House, and from the start we were made to feel so welcome by Ed and Nel. Our room, the Superking was a real treat to be in.The decor was lovely, and small touches like fresh flowers just made all the difference. We ate in on both of our evenings at Kiltearn, and Nel's cooking was just superb. A real treat! Breakfast was just as impressive, and our mouths still water just thinking about the food! After our all too short two day stay, we felt we had become part of the family. we can't wait to return!

Response

Thank you for such a heartfelt review, we look forward to seeing you again in 2013

Reviewer:Mr. Francis Bolton K | Sun 20th May 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent Guest House - Rating 5/5

This is a beautifully situated guest house handy for those travelling in and around the highlands.The room I had was large and tastefully decorated with all the facilites you would need.Breakfast was promptly served and overall enjoyable.Would firmly recommend this guest house.

Response

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Hugh O | Thu 19th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Peaceful, beautiful place. - Rating 5/5

Exceptional hospitality.

Response

Thank you for your great review. We look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewer:Mr. Peter N | Sat 18th Feb 2012 | 6 years ago


Feedback - Rating 1/5

Beautiful House in an idylic location. From the moment of arrival greated very warmly and offered tea in the drawing room which was lovely. Breakfast was lovely served in a beautiful conservatory and the over service was very warm and personalised almost like staying with family and friends, will definately return if the opportunity arises. Thank you for a wonderful stay and lovely upgrade. Rating got stuck but 5/5!

Response

Such a lovely review.................thank you ever so much. If it is not too cheeky to ask please also post something on TripAdvisor as these reviews really make a difference. Hope to see you both again. Ed & Nel

Reviewer:Mrs. SabaH | Wed 14th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


Such a lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Very dear hosts, our stay in the Kiltearn House was more than great and it will remain definitely one of our best souvenirs of Scotland, thank you so much again !Kind regards and best wishes, take care,Magali & BenoîtPS :we will send you soon an e-mail with a few pictures !... ;o)

Reviewer:Mr. Duretz B | Wed 17th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


4 star comfort- Rating 5/5

If you want some luxury with wonderful hospitality then Kiltearn House Hotel is the place for you.Ed and Nel are truly lovely people who treat their guests as if they were part of their family.Our room was spotlessly clean, spacious and the last word in comfort.If we are ever up North again we certainly hope to book in.

Response

Thank you for your fantastic review...............it is highly appreciated and means alot to us. If you ever have a couple of mins. free please also post a review on TripAdvisor as these comments really help.. We would love to see you both again. Ed & Nel.

Reviewer:Mr. John M | Wed 17th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Expectations surpassed! - Rating 5/5

My husband and I wanted a few days away from it all and needed some relaxing time to ourselves.The website looked promising and our expections were certainly surpassed.Nell and Ed are lovely people and great hosts.Nell's cooking is first class.We booked only for the first night, but dined in for three out of the four nights we stayed.There are plenty of places to visit, so would definitely recommend staying here to anyone visiting that area.

Response

Thank you for this fantastic review. If you have a few mins it would be great if you could post a review on TripAdvisor as well.Thank you, this is really appreciated and helps a lot. Ed & Nel

Reviewer:Mrs. Pamela S | Tue 26th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Pure Bliss! - Rating 5/5

The perfect place to stay. You can tour the Highlands from this beautiful B& B and enjoy the perfect food, the beautyful rooms and most of all Ed & Nel, two wonderful persons, ready to help and cuddle you through your stay.We can't wait to be back at Kiltearn House!

Reviewer:Mrs. Margherita G | Mon 11th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Nice stay - Rating 5/5

Ed and Nel were very warm, friendly, and accommodating. I had a lovely stay at the Kiltearn. The view of the water was calming, and the ruined church was also captivating. The breakfasts were delicious, and the room was comfortable.

Response

Thank you for this lovely review. Your comments are highly appreciated

Reviewer:Mr. James K | Wed 22nd Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Super! - Rating 5/5

Wonderfull stay, we come back next year!

Response

Thank you Horst we look forward to your 3rd visit!

Reviewer:Horst R | Wed 8th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Perfect cooking, very nice house and atmosphere, a very warm welcome

Response

Thank you for your review...........highly appreciated. If you ever have a free moment please post something on TripAdvisor as these reviews really help us. Hope you will visit again. Ed & Nel

Reviewer:Mr. Horst R | Wed 8th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Dreamlike Quartier - Rating 5/5

It is a great Quartier, very friendly service. Super food. And Ed and Nell had always and in all things be very helpful.

Response

Hi Thomas. Hope to see you back sometime. Thank you!

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas J | Tue 31st May 2011 | 7 years ago


A really good place! - Rating 5/5

Even though we spent only one night in "kiltearn house", we really enjoyed our stay!The place is great (the rooms are massive), the area as well and the service was perfect.We really recommend the place!

Response

Thank you for such a great review hope you got your charger back OK?

Reviewer:Mrs. Valerie A | Mon 30th May 2011 | 7 years ago